Please understand this is not a complete list

My wish is to help explain some of the terminology in the 50+ chant videos posted on this site.

I invite you to enjoy some of them.

Ahimsa – non harming

Amitabha - a celestial Buddha

Ananda – one of the major disciples of Buddha Shakyamuni

Avadhuti – A subtle energy channel traversing the base of the spine to the crown of the head

Bardo – Intermediate state, usually referring to the period between death and rebirth

Bhumi – One of the stages in the spiritual development of a Bodhisattva on the road to Buddhahood

Bodhichitta – Enlightened or awaken mind.

Bodhisattva – Someone who dedicates their lives, through all their rebirths, to the attainment of enlightenment in order to liberate others from suffering

Bodhisattva of Compassion - Chenrezig- (Tibetan) or Avalokiteshvara (Sanskrit)

Chandali – Inner heat yoga. One of the 6 yogas of Naropa

Dakini – Female tantric deities who protect and serve Buddhist teachings and practitioners. Dakinis transmit secret teachings to select practitioners when the time is right

Dewachen – Land of Bliss or Heaven-world.

Dharma – the teachings of Buddha Shakyamuni

Dharmakaya – The body of truth usually refers to the pure, essential nature of the awakened mind. It is beyond all conceptual limitations and is completely clear

Dharmapala – Protectors of the doctrine. Fierce and powerful, often wrathful

Dream Yoga – One of the 6 Yogas of Naropa, an advanced yoga meditative practice aimed at utilizing the dream state as a means to recognize the illusory nature of all appearances

Dusum Khyenpa – The first Karmapa (1110-1193), a student of Gampopa

Eight Fold Path – Right view, right thought, right speech, right action, right livelihood, right effort, right mindfulness, right concentration

Five Negative Emotions – Anger, Pride, Jealousy, Desire & Ignorance

Four Foundations – Reflections on this precious human body that we have obtained; Impermanence and death; cause & result (Karma) & the shortcomings of samsara.

Four Immeasurables / Boundless Qualities – unlimited love, boundless compassion, unsurpassable joy & fundamental impartiality

Four Noble Truths – The first teaching of the Buddha. The truth of suffering, the truth of the cause of suffering, the truth of the ceasing of suffering and the truth of the path leading to the ceasing of suffering

Gelukpa – One of the four main schools of Tibetan Buddhism

Guru Yoga – The fourth preliminary practice of the Vajrayana Ngondro

Hayagriva – a wrathful deity usually associated with the Nyingma tradition

Hundred Syllable Mantra – Mantra of Vajrasattva

Kagyu – One of the four main schools of Tibetan Buddhism

Karma – Healthy or unhealthy mental impressions and their consequences expressed through one’s actions

Lama – Two words in Tibetan.  1) La – Nobody above him or her in spiritual experience & 2) Ma – expressing compassion like a loving mother. The union of Wisdom, Knowledge and Compassion, both feminine and masculine qualities.

Madhyamika – The philosophy developed by the Indian Master Nagarjuna who lived in the first half of the 2nd Century

Mahamudra – Refers to the experience of the practitioner where one attains the union of emptiness and luminosity; also perceives the non-duality of the phenomenal world and emptiness.

Milarepa – (1052-1135) Famous Tibetan Yogi and poet who lived in caves and achieved enlightenment in one lifetime.

Mount Meru – giant mountain at the center of the Buddhist world system surrounded by smaller mountains, lakes and oceans.

Nirvana - The Buddha describes nirvana as the perfect peace of mind possessed by one who is liberated. It is to be distinguished from peaceful moods arising from a temporary absence of anger, sensual desire, anxiety and other afflicting states

Nyingma – The oldest of the four main schools of Tibetan Buddhism

Palden Lhamo – Female dharma protector

Phowa – Transference of Consciousness

Prana – Energy or breath that moves up through the channels of the body

Puja – Buddhist ceremonies (prayers)

Sadhana – A method of prayer that includes chanting, visualization and mantra recitation

Sakya – one of the four main schools of Tibetan Buddhism

Samaya – Sacred vow or word

Samsara - Defined as the continual repetitive cycle of birth and death that arises from ordinary beings' grasping and fixating on a self and experiences. Specifically, samsara refers to the process of cycling through one rebirth after another within the six realms of existence, where each realm can be understood as either a physical realm or a psychological state characterized by a particular type of suffering.

Sangha – The community of practitioners who have taken refuge in the Three Jewels.

Six Syllable Mantra – OM MANI PEME HUNG, the mantra of Chenrezig, the bodhisattva of infinite compassion

Six Yogas of Naropa – born in 1016, is remembered for his trust and devotion to his teacher, enabled him to attain enlightenment in one lifetime. He is a lineage holder in the Kagyu school of Tibetan Buddhism.

Spiritual Friend – teacher, spiritual master or guru

Taking Refuge -  In the Buddha, Dharma and Sangha

Ten Directions – The compass points North, South, East, West. The 4 points in between those.  All the way up, all the way down. In other words, all directions, all times and in all universes.

Thanghka – Tibetan scroll painting depicting Buddhas, Bodhisattvas & other deities

Three Times – Past, Present & Future

Three Jewels – The Buddha, DSharma & Sangha

Tilopa – Founder of the Kagyu lineage

Tsongkhapa – founder of the Gelukpa school of Tibetan Buddhism. Led by HH Dalai Lama

Two Accumulations – Accumulations of Merit & Wisdom

Vajrasattva – Vajrasattva (Sanskrit), Dorje Sempa (Tibetan). Practice which purifies harmful deeds and removes obscurations

Yamantaka – Wrathful manifestation of Manjushri

Yidam - is a fully enlightened being who is the focus of personal meditation . The term is often translated into English as a teacher deity or meditation deity.


Complete Chenrezig Chant  

I invite you to listen to and chant along with the video

When chanting this prayer we are making an earnest request, a sincere and heartfelt prayer on behalf of all sentient beings. Chenrezig may you hold all beings in your compassion until we are established in the "pure realm of Buddhahood."

While doing the Chenrezig prayer, we pray that all beings in the six realms may be established in the pure land of Chenrezig. Ultimately we are aiming toward liberation from the six realms of existence for all beings, including ourselves.

Thus having prayed for the establishment of all beings in a pure realm, we pray that we ourselves may be of benefit to all living beings with as much strength and power as Chenrezig, in this and all our future births, throughout all of our different existences. We pray that we may be able to develop the qualities that Chenrezig developed, and having developed these qualities ourselves, we pray that we may be able to benefit beings by removing all obscurations and defilement's, just as Chenrezig does, with the six-syllable mantra (OM MANI PEME HUNG) spread in the ten directions. It is really a prayer that we ourselves will have the power to benefit others.

Understanding some of the terminology in the Heart Sutra

 The 5 Skandhas

  • Form or matter

  • Sensation or feeling

  • Perception or conception

  • Mental formations

  • Consciousness or discernment

Vulture Peak Mountain

– One of Buddhas teaching places


– One of the main disciples of the Buddha


– The Buddha’s name for themselves.


– Demi-gods


- Gandharvas can fly through the air and are known for their skill as musicians. They are connected with trees and flowers, and are described as dwelling in the scents of bark, sap, and blossom. Fairy-like creatures.

Heart Sutra 


I invite you to listen to and chant along with the Heart Sutra below

Chenrezig # 4.jpg

Chenrezig - The Buddha of Compassion